Beyoncé announces recipients of Formation Scholars Award black history education formation scholars

From left to right: Sadiyah Ramos; Avery Youngblood;
Maya Rogers; Bria Paige.

Back in April, Beyoncé announced that she would be marking the one-year anniversary of her Lemonade album by creating the The Formation Scholars Award.

Now, she has announced the recipients of her merit scholarship program with a post on her website:

The Formation Scholars award encourages and supports young women who are bold, creative, conscious, confident and unafraid to think outside the box. Students’ disciplines included creative arts, music, literature and African-American studies. All applicants maintain a 3.5 GPA or above and submitted a short essay stating how LEMONADE inspired their educational goals. All finalists and winners were selected by committees from the colleges and universities.

The four recipients are: Sadiya Ramos, a sophomore at the Berklee College of Music; Avery Youngblood, a second-year student at Parson’s School of Design; Maya Rogers, a graduate student at Howard University; and Bria Paige, a junior at Spelman College.

Applicants were considered from Berklee College of Music, including the colleges in Boston and Valencia, Spain, Berklee online and Boston Conservatory at Berklee; Howard University in Washington, DC; Parsons School of Design at The New School in New York City; and Spelman College in Atlanta, Georgia, according to Beyoncé’s website.

Congratulations to these Formation Scholars!

Let’s block ads! (Why?)