59.4 F
Sunday, April 21, 2024

Buy now


Southwest Tennessee’s Dr. Hall snares national board of directors’ honor

Southwest Tennessee Community College President Dr. Tracy D. Hall has been elected to the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) board of directors to represent the National Council on Black American Affairs (NCBAA). 

Hall will serve a three-year term beginning July 1.

“I am honored to be selected to represent the National Council on Black American Affairs as a member of the AACC board of directors and look forward to serving the board as a champion for college access and success for African Americans and other underserved populations,” said Hall in a distributed statement.

AACC serves as the primary advocacy organization for community colleges across the nation. The board has 32-members, six of whom are representatives of affiliated councils. Two affiliated council representatives are elected annually.

As an affiliated council of the AACC, the NCBAA assists African-American staff and students at community colleges to achieve success in attaining educational and employment goals.

AACC is a founding partner of Achieving the Dream, a leader in championing evidence-based institutional improvement that supports improved outcomes for all students. 

The announcement of Hall’s election emphasizes that since taking the helm as president of Southwest in 2015, she has “transformed the student experience and laid the foundation for its equity-first culture that focuses on closing achievement gaps and increasing graduation rates, especially among low-income students, first-generation students and students of color.”

In 2016, Southwest, a predominantly Black Institution, joined the ATD network to redesign student-centered processes from recruitment to graduation. 

The College’s transformational work led to the college earning ATD’s Leader College designation in 2020 and winning the national Bellwether Award for Planning, Governance and Finance in 2021.

Southwest also has won AACC awards for teaching and campus best practices to include the 2019 Community College Safety, Planning and Leadership Award and the 2018, 2020 and 2022 Dale P. Parnell Distinguished Faculty Awards.

Hall also is a member of AACC’s Commission on Economic and Workforce Development, where she “shares insights on how community colleges can close the skills gap and align their programs to support future jobs growth.”

Hall’s numerous other service connections include:

* The Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges Board of Trustees as part of the College Delegate Assembly, 

* Board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of St Louis Memphis Branch,

* Greater Memphis Chamber and 

* Memphis Medical District Collaborative.


Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News