73.4 F
Monday, June 17, 2024

Buy now


Mayor-elect Young touts diversity as he develops transition team

Memphis mayor-elect Paul Young on Wednesday (Oct. 18) announced his transition team, which includes a former University of Memphis president, a former Memphis police director, an outgoing Memphis City Council member and a former chief people officer for FedEx.

The transition team features multiple founders of non-profit organizations, private sector business owners, and community advocates.

The team will focus on community outreach, strategic planning, and potential talent identification “to support the Young administration’s priorities,” according to a news release.

Young also confirmed that he and the People/Appointments co-chairs will meet with all current administration senior staff regarding the transition and his vision for their departments under his administration.

Young, the current president and CEO of the Downtown Memphis Commission, out-polled 16 other candidates to win the mayor’s seat in the Oct. 5 city elections. Mayor Jim Strickland is term limited, so there was no incumbent in the race. Young will be sworn in on Jan.1.

“Diversity is a defining element of this team,” Young said when asked about the transition planning.

“It was important to pull together the best and brightest people from all neighborhoods and all facets of our community. Our business sector, civic, nonprofit, and community organizations are all represented in this team, and we look forward to adding more.”

The team makeup directly aligns with Young’s goals for diversity, with a wide range of neighborhoods, generations, and backgrounds represented. Nearly 85 Memphis advocates have already agreed to represent their individual communities as part of the team, with others anticipated to join within the coming days and weeks.

Here are the transition team members.

People/Appointments Co-Chairs

  • Emily Greer, CEO, Greer Leadership Solutions. Former chief administrative officer, ALSAC/St. Jude.
  • David Rudd, former president, University of Memphis.
  • Chris Winton, former chief people officer, FedEx.

Public Safety Co-Chairs

  • Jennifer Collins, president, Rhodes College. Former assistant U.S. attorney.
  • Sandy Bromley, deputy director of Justice Programs, Shelby County Division of Community Services.
  • Toney Armstrong, director of security, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. Former MPD director.
  • Durrell Cowan, director, Heal 901.

Economic Development Co-Chairs

  • Christina McCarter, Owner, Feast & Graze.
  • Ted Townsend, president & CEO, Greater Memphis Chamber.
  • Jozelle Booker, president and CEO, Mid-South Minority Business Council Continuum.

Strong Neighborhoods Co-Chairs

  • Archie Willis, president, ComCap Partners.
  • Janet Boscarino, executive director, Clean Memphis.
  • Regina Blount Williams, neighborhood leader.

Supporting Our Youth Co-Chairs

  • Jonathan Torres, CEO, Memphis Athletic Ministries.
  • Patrice Thomas, chief of staff, Memphis-Shelby County Schools.
  • Sarah Lockridge Steckel, CEO, The Collective Blueprint.

Thriving Arts & Culture Co-Chairs

  • Cara Greenstein, vice president of Public Engagement, Doug Carpenter & Associates.
  • Craig Brewer, filmmaker.
  • George Monger, CEO, Connect Music.
  • Rachel Knox, senior program officer, Hyde Family Foundation.

Transportation & Infrastructure Co-Chairs

  • Anna McQuiston, executive director, Mid-South Development District.
  • Courtney McNeal, chief of staff, Innovate Memphis.
  • Stephen Edwards, senior engineer, TREKK Design Group.

Good Governance Co-Chairs 

  • Cheyenne Johnson, Memphis City Council member.
  • Dorcas Young Griffin, director, Shelby County Community Services.
  • Marco McClendon, mayor, City of West Memphis

 (For more information about joining a transition team sub-committee, email a letter of interest to youngtransitionteam@gmail.com.)

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest News