For voters in Memphis City Council districts 1 and 7, the political season will continue as runoffs were warranted after votes from the Municipal Election were tallied Thursday night.

Voters also approved a half-cent sales tax hike pitched to restore benefits to city police and firefighters cut five years ago. The referendum on the increase of sales tax passed with a majority vote of 52.5 percent. It calls for any funds remaining to be directed to funding Pre-K. Still, there are several governmental steps to account for, including a call for the county to claim its share of the increased funding.

In the District 1 City Council race, community activist Rhonda Logan garnered 4,696 votes (48 percent) compared to Sherman Greer’s 3,684 (38 percent). Greer was the incumbent, placed in the position as a consensus candidate after controversy over Logan’s candidacy turned into a flap that split the council, prompting some members to walk out.

The other runoff will pit District 7 incumbent Berlin Boyd, who received 2,877 votes (30 percent), against rival Michalyn C.S. Easter-Thomas, who received 1,959 (20 percent), in a crowded field that included seven other candidates.

Incumbents were victors in districts 2, 3, 4 and 5 and three of the super districts.

In Dist. 2, incumbent Frank Colvett, sales director at Greenscape, Inc., won against candidates John Emery and Marvin White. Colvett received 8,541 votes. Emery and White received 1,338 votes and 4,295 votes respectively.

In District 3, incumbent Patrice Robinson beat challenger Tanya Cooper. Robinson garnered 7,723 votes compared to 4,295 votes for Cooper.

District 4 incumbent Jamita Swearengen won with 7,151 votes over her nearest rival, Britney Thornton, who received 3,194 votes.

In District 5, incumbent Worth Morgan, a sales executive, won with 11,397 votes over John R. Marek, who received 7,512 votes. Marek is the founder of the Dignity Pact, dedicated to criminal justice reform.

In District 6, Edmund Ford Sr., a former councilman, was placed back on the panel with 9,770 votes.

In Super District 8 Position 1, lawyer J.B. Smiley beat out Gerre Currie, the District 6 incumbent who ran for the District 8 seat instead. Smiley received 14,464 votes over 11,324 for Currie.

In Super District 8, Position 2, incumbent Cheyenne Johnson, a former county assessor, won with 21, 853 votes. She beat out four opponents.

In Super District 8, Position 3, Martavius Jones, a stockbroker and former Memphis School Board member, won with 19,865 votes over a crowded field led by R.S. Ford Sr., who received 11,340 votes.

In Super District 9, Position 1, Chase Carlisle won the closest of the council races with 23,421 votes to 22,890 votes for Erika Sugarmon, daughter of late civil rights leader Russell Sugarmon.

In Super District 9, Position 2, incumbent Ford Canale won with 27,051 over his closest contender, Maurico Calvo, the longtime executive director of Latino Memphis, who received 9,277.

In Super District 9, Position 3, Jeff Warren, a former school board member, won with 22,767 votes.

In other Election Night results:

Memphis City Council Chairman Emeritus Myron Lowery was elected City Court Clerk, defeating several challengers, including the bid of former City Councilman Joe Brown.